Age of Ultron Heroclix

Normally I try to keep the blog and the podcast on the positive side of things. Designers work hard on their games and accessories, and just because I don’t like something doesn’t mean it is bad, and I certainly don’t want to offend anyone. Having said that after taking part in the first installment of the Heroclix Age of Ultron story line event I have some thoughts that I need to share. First off, overall I like the trend that got started with Avengers Assemble of throwing in characters that we don’t see very often along with more popular ones. Black Knight, Tigra, Yellow Jacket, Ant-Man, and Protector are a few examples of fun very playable characters you’ll encounter in this set. Not surprisingly, since he created Ultron, the set features bunch of different versions of Hank Pym which is also good to see and I know many players are excited to see the Morph mechanic making a new appearance. There are a lot of good things to be said for this set, but there are also a couple of very concerning things I noticed during our game. We ended up breaking open three bricks of sealed boosters and there were quite a few that were nearly identical, so much so that it felt like we barely got to see any of the figures that were coming out from this set. Avengers Assemble did an amazing job of packing boosters so that you didn’t get the same booster over and over again, which was another reason I liked it so much.

As the title character of the set I also think it is worth taking a moment to discuss Ultron. There’s a ton of Ultron in here. Multiple incarnations of the character taken from his various appearances and upgrades in comics, as well as drones to help fill out the Ultron armies I’m sure we’ll be seeing in the coming months. If you’re not looking for any Ultrons and your more focused on getting more Avengers for your roster be warned, you’re probably going to be trading some robots to make it happen.

There is also a noticeable lack of characters with indomitable in this set, which is really disappointing. Some other players voiced the opinion that Wizkids has been going overboard with indomitable and giving it to figures who really shouldn’t have it as part of the power creep, but it is just stranger to see an entire set with almost now indomitable characters present.

When you’re paying nearly thirty dollars to take part in an event expectations are high, and they should be, sadly Age of Ultron misses the mark completely as far as I’m concerned. I do suggest attending the opening events to get your hands on the participation prize, an Avengers Conference Table and a Tony Stark ID card but otherwise for the moment I am suggesting you skip the other events and invest the money in other games. I realize that local retailers have to pay for prize kits and I’m sorry, but this set just isn’t worth more than a hundred dollars that we’ll end up paying to take part in multiple events. The best figures in this set will quickly find their way to various trade bins, and I think this is going to be the set that we see a few choice figures people will hold onto and a ton that they won’t be able to give away.

ageofultron3

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Heroclix

When I was a kid my parents paid someone dressed up as one of the teenage mutant ninja turtles (it was Raphael if you’re curious) to come to my birthday party. My room was filled with teenage mutant ninja turtles actions figures, I watched the animated series whenever possible, and I bought the comics with all the glee a seven year old can muster. Today when I heard that they’d be making Heroclix versions of the teenage mutant ninja turtles to say that I got excited would be like saying that the Grand Canyon is a pothole. At one point I actually did my own version of some of the characters and I just hope this set lives up to my expectations. I’d also like to see something like this trait make an appearance.

Heroes in a Half Shell: This character can use toughness and combat reflexes.

There isn’t a wealth of information about the set yet, but they’ve said it will span various incarnations of the turtles from comics and television which is fantastic. Just think of all of the great characters they have to choose from! Leonardo, Michelangelo, Donatello, Raphael, April O’Neil, Casey Jones, Master Splinter, Shredder, Krang, Bebop Rocksteady, Leatherhead, Metalhead, and Baxter Stockman just to name a few of the possible options. I’d be shocked if we don’t see a hoard of Foot Clan ninjas and Ratcatcher robots as well.

tmnt-1024x769

Also, and I know this is me being a nitpicker, I really wish they’d got the colors for the turtles masks right. Unless it was done on purpose and someone over at Wizkids just really think Raphael is radical.

