Early in March I posted a blog entry about how I was planning to use the month of March to create a rough draft of a tabletop RPG that I could develop into something that’d be worth pursuing. I’ve made RPGs before but mostly things crafted around other universes, and even though I was proud of the finished result I knew they would never see play outside of my circle of friends. So when I sat down to try my hand at this it was risky, exciting, and terrifying all at the same time. Well it’s the first day of April and I feel I owe everyone a progress report, believe it or not I actually managed to accomplish what I set out to do. After one month I have a workable rough draft of a game that I think will see publication in one form or another within two years.

There’s still an enormous amount of work to do. The basics are there but they need to be developed, I’ve also got to find an artist, and it needs to be playtested thoroughly. I’m thinking this will end up on Kickstarter eventually, but I’m not sure about that yet.

For the record if anyone is wondering about the Daily D4, and the podcast part of the reason those haven’t been happening is so I can work on this. The other is that Jade has been in college for the better part of a year meaning the time available to work on those things has been severely limited. She starts a new schedule on Monday however and it should allow us to resume podcasting and talking about games.

