Some of you might be familiar with an annual event known as National Novel Writing Month, or Nanowrimo. During the month of November aspiring authors try to complete rough draft of a novel that is no less than 50,000 words in length. People meet up to encourage one another to keep up with their daily word requirement and to remind one another that they’re all in it together. I took part in it a few times, but always failed miserably. The reason for that is more than likely the fact that I’m not going to produce the next great piece of fantasy, science fiction, or much of anything else. I do however like to make role playing games. I’ve made a few over the years and they’ve all been well received by everyone whose actually played any of them. None of them have ever been published or anything so I don’t consider myself a game designer or anything like that, I’m more like Arthur Weasley. I just putter around in my shed with all that “rubbish” that I’ve managed to accumulate while no one was looking.

I’m looking to change that. This year I want to produce something that I could take to a publisher, or even try and publish myself. I realize that might sound a bit arrogant since it takes an entire staff of talented, dedicated, and creative people working around the clock to make something like Dungeons and Dragons or Mutants and Masterminds. Still I think I need to give it a try.

So how would this work? Well obviously I wouldn’t have a finished product in a month. That’s just silly. I’d be aiming to have something workable that could be play tested and used to develop a more polished product, that’s pretty much it. No artwork, no book, no kickstarter. Just an idea that I can spin into something better. Sounds simple enough right? Well we shall see. I’m dubbing next month Manticore March in which I will attempt to make an RPG. For now there will be no information about genre, mechanics, or any of that. I’m going to use the rest of this month to figure out exactly what I want to do before anyone asks for an initiative roll.

So keep your eyes peeled for further updates.

Manticore_BoM

