4-sided_dice_250

The Walking Dead Challenge

Quite some time ago I got swept up in the excitement of the new Walking Dead television series and I sat down to watch some of the episodes on Netflix. Unfortunately the show failed to hold my interest and I didn’t even make it through the first episode. Now, years later and with multiple seasons filed away I’ve decided to give the show a second chance. I’ve been wrong before and sometimes I have to watch things through a second time in order to enjoy them. For example I didn’t enjoy Firefly or the Dresden Files the first time I watched them, but on the next viewing I found myself thoroughly thrilled by both. Now what does any of this have to do with tabletop gaming and why is it cluttering up your beloved Daily D4? Well as I’ve mentioned in the past zombies have shambled in gaming in a very big way. While they may take up more attention in video games there is no shortage of an undead presence throughout RPGs and board games. The Walking Dead has even inspired multiple games itself. So I’ve set a challenge for myself and I intend to see it through to the bitter end. I will watch the first ten episodes of The Walking Dead and if the show doesn’t make me want to fling myself into the path of an approaching walker rather than watching an eleventh I will do an episode of the podcast devoted to the show in some way or another. Perhaps we’ll play one of The Walking Dead games, or I might run an RPG in that universe with some of the characters appearing as NPCs or even PCs. Like I said before I don’t know and I’m not going to burn any brain cells thinking about it if the shows fails to impress. I’ll be posting my thoughts on each episode as well in case anyone is interested in hearing my thoughts on the subject.

The-Walking-Dead-Companion-TV-Show-Series-Announced

