4-sided_dice_250

S.W.O.R.D.

Given the popularity of the television show Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and the Marvel cinematic universe I’ve been thinking that a campaign that shares some elements with them might be interesting. However I also don’t want to run a game based on S.H.I.E.L.D. because I feel though that ground has been well trodden in the past, and it might stifle some of the creativity of players. Instead I thought we’d focus on S.W.O.R.D. also known as Sentient World Observation and Response Department, the agency that keeps an eye on the other intelligent races of the Marvel universe and takes action when necessary. Skrulls, the Kree, the Brood, the Shi’Ar Empire, and the myriad of species who look at Earth as a primitive ball of mud are all on S.W.O.R.D.’s watch list. There are some great characters who’ve worked with the agency since it was introduced a few years ago and it seems to share some close ties to the X-Men.

Possible character choices include: Spider-Woman, Syrden,Beast, Abigail Brand, and Lockheed. Those are just characters who’ve actually worked with S.W.O.R.D. though, think about how many characters in Marvel Comics are aliens or have some ties to an alien culture. Ms. Marvel, Nova, the Fantastic Four, Lyja, Captain Marvel, and many are just a few examples of characters who could folded into such a campaign without any difficulty. If players are feeling especially bold though they could always whip up a brand new agent who represents the rank and file of S.W.O.R.D., but if I was playing I’d probably want to make a Skrull character of some sort.

As for an idea for a storyline Henry Gyrich becoming the Co-Director of S.W.O.R.D. and trying to deport all of the aliens on Earth has some possibilities. However I think I’d like to do something involving a possible crossover between S.W.O.R.D. and the Guardians of the Galaxy.

secret-invasion-peak

