4-sided_dice_250

You’ll be getting a double dose of the Daily D4 today since I was up late last night. Here’s the first batch.

Mutants and Masterminds Mr. Freeze

I recently decided to try and run another play-by-post set in Gotham City, and in order to make that happen I started making character sheets of a few of my favorite Batman villains. I’ve always been fascinated by Mr. Freeze, the vision of a tragic character trying to save his wife time and time again provided a sharp contrast to most other villains. He wasn’t motivated by greed, or anger, or insanity he just wanted to protect the person he loved which is why I think his relationship with Batman was so interesting.

Since I had to work today, but things were very slow and I had plenty of downtime, I managed to finish making my Mr. Freeze character sheet and I thought I’d share it with everyone.

Mr. Freeze
Secret Identity: Victor Fries

Abilities
Strength 0
Stamina 2
Agility 0
Dexterity 0
Fighting 1
Intellect 6
Awareness 2
Presence 2
[24 Power Points]

Skills
Close Combat (Unarmed) 2
Expertise (Science) 4
Intimidation 8
Ranged Combat (Freeze Gun) 6
Technology 4
Vehicles 2
[14 Power Points]

Powers
Immunity 2 (Aging, Cold) [2 Points]

Refrigeration Suit (Dynamic Array)
*Enhanced Trait 8 (Strength) [18 Points]
*Feature 1 (Body Temperature Regulation) [3 Point]
*Power Lifting 2 [4 Points]
*Protection 8 [8 Points]
Limit: Removable
[27 Power Points]

Freeze Gun (Array)
*Affliction 8 [Alternate Resistance (Dodge), Cumulative, Extended Range 2, Extra Condition, Progressive] [41 Points]
*Blast 8 [17 Points]
*Create 4 {Permanent} [9 Points]
*Environment [Extreme Cold] 2 [5 Points]
Limit: Easily Removable
[44 Power Points]

Advantages
Accurate Attack
All-Out Attack
Favored Environment (Subzero)
Improved Hold
Improvised Tools
Inventor
[6 Power Points]

Defenses
Dodge 1
Fortitude 2
Toughness 10
Parry 3
Will 8
[26 Power Points]

Combat
Initiative +0
Close Combat (Unarmed) +3 DC 23 Toughness Check
Ranged Combat (Freeze Gun) +6 Dodge Check DC 18 Fortitude Check Hindered, Immobile, Incapacitated

Complications
Weakness: Since his body chemistry was altered Mr. Freeze is incapable of surviving outside of a subzero environment for a prolonged period of time without his refrigeration suit.
For Nora (Motivation): Mr. Freeze is driven by a desire to protect his wife Nora and cure the illness that force them to place her in cryogenic suspension so many years ago.

709051-b_cards_pic09

Mutants and Masterminds: Gotham

For those who don’t know Mutants and Masterminds is a tabletop RPG that allows you to create your own heroes and villains then battle it out in a wide variety of settings. Just about anything you can imagine can be turned into a M&M campaign. You can even play using established characters such as Batman, Swamp Thing, Spider-Man, or Howard the Duck. As I mentioned above I decided to run a campaign of Mutants and Masterminds set in Gotham City, and I’m pretty excited to see how it will turn out. In the past I’ve run several Mutants and Masterminds campaigns and they’ve all been great fun. I chose Gotham for the setting this time around because I think it’s an ideal setting for what I call street level heroes rather than more powerful characters.

If you’re new to RPGs or GMing play by post campaigns might be a good way for you to get started, there’s an element of anonymity and you don’t have to try to coordinate several people’s schedules to arrange play time. If you’re interested feel free to check out my new campaign over on Critical Failures.

http://forums.penny-arcade.com/discussion/189311/m-m-3rd-edition-gotham-now-recruiting#latest

Batman_Gotham_City_Secret_Files_and_Origins1

If you enjoyed this installment of the Daily D4 you might also enjoy the following podcast.

Episode 5 Mutants and Masterminds: http://outofcharacter.buzzsprout.com/13127/108110-episode-5-mutants-and-masterminds

