I’ve tried to start a campaign set in Pittsburgh using the Dresden Files RPG twice, once as an ordinary tabletop group and then as a play-by-post. I had a ton of fun on both occasions but neither game made it very far into the campaign for different reasons. City creation is one of the things I love most about this system so making Pittsburgh magical was a special activity all on it’s own.

None of my local friends are big fans of the Dresden Files so I doubt I’ll ever get to have another run at making this campaign happen, but I’d love it if someone got to use all of the ideas that were created. There’s a ton of great stuff here so I’m sharing it with you all in the hopes that it will spread a bit of joy or at least a couple of laughs.

Now if you’ve never created a city using the Dresden Files RPG you should be warned you end up with a fair amount of material as you’re basically recreating a city. For that reason I’m going to split this up over a couple of entries so that it isn’t too big.

I thought we’d begin with the keystone for every city, the themes and the threats.

Themes and Threats

Threat

The Idea
Despite their hatred for one another the dwarves and trolls who occupy Pittsburgh generally avoid taking violent actions against one another, mostly because both fear that a violation of the Unseelie Accords. The Winter Court uses their mutual hate and mistrust to antagonize both sides in the hopes of starting a war that will force them to seek Queen Mab’s support.

The Aspect
Cold War

The Faces
Holly Frost Headhunter for the Winter Court
Joten Rustgem Dwarf Jeweler
Richard Troll Bodyguard

Theme

The Idea
The magical factions of Pittsburgh are fiercely divided from one another and it is difficult for them to come together.

The Aspect
“I’ll Break My Staff.”

The Faces
Bill Shaughnessy The Warden of Pittsburgh
Bobby Black Down on His Luck Wizard
Lawrence Simmons Half-Satyr Park Ranger

Theme

The Idea
Most mortal living in Pittsburgh are either dangerously ignorant over the supernatural activity going on around them or they choose to ignore it at all costs.

The Aspect
A Magic Town With A Football Problem

The Faces
Amanda Lee Mortal Zookeeper
Rachel Lance Campus Security Officer in the Know

