Pelor

 

A while ago when I started running Dungeons and Dragons for a group of teenagers at my local library I wanted to come up with some interesting lore for Madthorn Forest and West Briar. I love nursery rhymes and fairy tales because they’re an interesting piece of every culture so I tried to come up with one that would work in my setting. Since West Briar is mostly populated by humans, and many of them are farmers, I thought that something to honor the god Pelor might be a good fit. I also love myths and stories that explain natural phenomenon so I decided to write something about the sun.

“Pelor’s Torch, burning bright,
Warm our days and chase the night,
By your light we till the soil,
By your leave we rest from toil,
When your embers hang above our heads,
Let them conduct us to our beds.”

