I’ve been inspired by my copy of Deities and Demigods to try and run a Dungeons and Dragons campaign set in a fantasy influenced version of ancient Egypt. The idea of using gods like Ra, Anubis, and Bastet really fascinates me for some strange reason. I’d really be hoping for someone to make a cleric or a paladin.

I’m thinking that humans would be the standard choice, but some of the standard D&D races would also be on the table. Most would require some reworking to make them fit into the setting. I think elves would mostly hale from Britannia and the forests of Gaul. Borrowing a page from the Dark Sun setting most dwarves are slaves working in mines under Roman control. The only free dwarves left are living in xenophobic holds in the lands of the nords. Charismatic, stealthy, and adept and stealing most halflings live in Rome, either as slaves or plying their trade as spies, assassins, or pickpockets on the streets.

Although I haven’t really settled on an idea for a campaign yet I’m thinking of doing something involving Rome.

I’d really like to use some iconic Egyptian creatures though! Sphinxes, mummies, jackals, gnolls (reconfigured to be servitors of Anubis), and enormous crocodiles are all at the top of my list.

If anyone else has done something like this in the past or has any thoughts about the idea I’d love to hear them.

