Today I had the chance to carry on with the monthly ongoing Dungeons and Dragons campaign I’ve been running the local library. The game is a teen program which the library was nice enough to let me run on their premises without charge. I’ve been running the program for about six months, aside from playing D&D I’ve also played Mutants and Masterminds and Gamma World with the teens.

I’ve run a few one-shot campaigns at conventions and festivals, usually some younger players have taken part so I’m used to working with a younger group. As a matter of fact the first gaming group I ever GMed for had two excellent teenage players in it. However I wasn’t certain how well this campaign would go when we started it, but then you can never be sure of that I suppose. It has been a wonderful experience and it’s given me a chance to run a game I love with a group of passionate young players.

The current party consists of six players who have been coming to the game from day one. Calliope, an Eladrin invoker of Sehanine who was discovered alone after she was cast out of the Feywild as an infant. Mack, a Human fighter and a mercenary for hire. Belkar Bitteleaf, a cursed Halfling ranger who has a special hatred in his little heart for the goblins. Safin Riverblade, a Half-Elf swordmage who abandoned his teaching career to seek out a bit of adventure. Willow Thorn, an Elf druid whose bond with nature and all of its creatures is especially deep. Talos Turathi, a Drgaonborn Warlord who once commanded a band of fierce Dragonborn who carved a path of war across the countryside. He has since abandoned the path of a warlord and gone in search of redemption.

Since this is a monthly campaign and their play sessions are only about two hours in length they have a limited amount of time to adventure, but they certainly make the most of it. They’ve already managed to track a group of bandits to their hidden lair, talk their way out of trouble with a savage ogre, defeat a savage force of mercenaries, skeletons, and goblins, and found their way through a deadly dwarven maze.

This campaign began as an attempt to introduce some younger players to Dungeons and Dragons and tabletop gaming. It has shown me that despite the fact that we are living in an age of technological wonders the fun of sitting around a table with a group of friends and playing pretend isn’t lost on anyone. I have plans to carry on with the program for as long as I am allowed to do so, and I’m also going to bring out a few more systems as we carry on. Star Wars Sagas is next on the list and a few of the players are really looking forward to playing droid characters.

In the future I will definitely be doing some podcasts about teen gamers so if that’s a topic you’re interested in be sure to keep an eye out for future updates.

If you’re interested in learning more about the campaign, the players, or Madthorn Forest there is an obsidian portal page for the campaign. I set it up so the players could show off their characters to friends who have yet to take up the dice themselves.Feel free to give it a look.
http://www.obsidianportal.com/campaigns/tales-of-madthorn-forest

